The Carrotbox

Blog > November 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Tidiness, minimalism and parallelism with good flow: these rings give me the same satisfaction I get from looking at raked Japanese rock gardens. To see more, visit Dutch jeweller Cécile van Eeden.

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Canned seafood rings from Japan's Nature Technicolour, purveyors of (mostly) scientific capsule machine toys.

Monday, November 18, 2019

A ring from the toothpick series by Japan's Makiko Mitsunari...

...who also has a cool "Mineral Brooch" collection.

Friday, November 15, 2019

A wide range of inspiration, from Moscow architecture to Japanese fashion design, informs the cool, futuristic work of Russia's Roskosh. There's a lot to explore, so go check it out!

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: London-based Spanish jeweller Marian Ripoll.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

The unabashedly colourful glamour of New York's Taffin (James de Givenchy).

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

This cup may not runneth over literally, but it sure does figuratively (and exquisitely). Check out the "Elsewhere" ring by New York's Henry & Hodu.

Monday, November 11, 2019

I'm drawn to these abundant stacks of silver but most of this jeweller's work actually showcases bright, cheerful colours in enamel. To see those, visit Italy's Cristina Grabar.

Friday, November 8, 2019

From ephemeral smoke rings to rings that are deliberately "hard to wear," Georgia-based Mechasposada (Maria Mercedes Posada) serves up a variety of conceptual work that plays with your notion of what jewellery is.

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Russia's Irina Shturkina.

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

If you could put anxiety on a ring, these near-bursting balloons would be it for me. And yet, I like it. For more cool work, check out Clova Jewellery (the UK's Clova Rae-Smith)

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Pieces that interlock...

...and interplay, by Japan's Shuji Suko.

Monday, November 4, 2019

Is this what they mean when they say a circle is made up of arcs? Rings above by Japan's Unik.

Friday, November 1, 2019

If there were an award for Most Ingenious Use of an Opal, wouldn't it be fitting that a ring named "A.I." would win it?

Check out the UK's Caiyang Yin for interesting pieces featuring untraditional materials, including mop fibers and Beats headphone wires.

«  Older