The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Friday, November 27, 2020

These rings are so cool and striking, you'd never think that they came from humble beginnings. Check out Texas artist Charity Ridpath for more pieces featuring recycled salad containers, produce bags and other single-use plastics.

Thursday, November 26, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's Erstwilder.

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

China's Xinia Guan hand-saws silver, gold and stainless steel to create mesmerizing, even meditative patterns.

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

Rings unlacq any I've ever seen: incredible lacquer work by Japan's Keisuke Sano.

Monday, November 23, 2020

I always find clean, flat edges on glass to be deeply satisfying, so you can imagine my utter satisfaction with Japan's Kazumi Fukasawa.

Friday, November 20, 2020

French artist Marie Guerrier creates sculptures "from miniature to monumental," like the wearable rings you see here to the larger installations you can — and should! — view in her gallery.

Thursday, November 19, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Poland's Sergiusz Kuchczynski.

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

For that "just raided the antiquities wing of the museum" look, visit Spain's Assumpta Bou.

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

If you still associate "bead rings" with those friendship rings from elementary school, check out French jeweller Nina Mikha for her grown-up take on the old classic.

Monday, November 16, 2020

Sucker.

Or arm. Either way, Spain's AntroPiko has your octopus jewellery needs covered.

Friday, November 13, 2020

Eunseok Han really has her creative juices — and colas and beers — flowing. The South Korean artist uses drink cans as her colour palette, creating jewellery that blooms bright and pretty. Don't miss her brooches, necklaces and other works!

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Hungary's MintaLabor.

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Oxidation as decoration by South Africa's Birgit Duval.

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

These rings are UK-based Malaysian jeweller Caron Ang's "attempts at capturing the intricacy and fluidity of the blood vessels." Below, another of her branchial (so to speak) rings:

Monday, November 9, 2020

Rings, with a punk sensibility, by Japan's Chigo.

Friday, November 6, 2020

Please look at these rings for at least twenty seconds. This COVID-19 "Wash Your Hands" set brought to you by UK-based Immie Spilsbury.

Thursday, November 5, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Australia's Sharka Bosakova.

Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Some gorgeous matte petals from Portugal's Ana Sales.

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Just some blue vibes today with these rings in titanium and lapis lazuli by Australia's Lia Rita Anderson...

...this glass ring by Japan's Itsuka Glass Works (Itsuka Ito)...

...and this sapphire ring by New York's Paradiiso.

Monday, November 2, 2020

These rings please me. I am pleased. If you please, visit Spain's Maria Ninot for many more pieces.

Friday, October 30, 2020

These rings by Norway's Elisi Halvorsen aren't just spooky because of their ghostly appearance — they're made of white candlewax, a staple of respectable haunted houses everywhere. For more of Elisi's work, check out her line, Amaltea.

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Japan's Naoko Yoshizawa.

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

"Gettin' Griddy Wit It"... would be a terrible caption that doesn't do justice to South Korea's Lee Sangmi and her cool geometric pieces.

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Gradually, over the course of my blogging history, I've gone from "signets make me think of Teamsters" to "give me all the signets, please," thanks to rings like these by New York's Claus Jewelry (Erin Claus).

Monday, October 26, 2020

Spain's Kiseno offers up an interesting mix of urban, industrial and whimsical elements.

Friday, October 23, 2020

I love the drawbridginess (it's a word) of these "Souvenir" series rings (above top). Also pictured are rings from the "My Precious Stones" series, featuring minerals like calcium and fossilized coral. All rings above by Spain's Sebastià Macia, whose style feels unique in the true sense of the word.

Thursday, October 22, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: the UK's Jane Sedgwick.

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

According to the artist, these are the eyes of Michelangelo's David... with Russian prison tattoos underneath.

Inspired by her environment — both physical and political — Russia's Kate Snap makes interesting jewellery with a gothic flair.

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Literally edgy work from Germany's Esther Heite, whom I first noticed by way of these cool "Gumball-Machine" brooches:

Monday, October 19, 2020

Rings by Greek jeweller Evard (Efi Vardaka).

Friday, October 16, 2020

The "Teti" ring from Italy's Art is Therapy (Marco Zagaria) is a "super detailed micro city-sculpture" that "wraps a world around your finger."

Thursday, October 15, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: Spain's Gorda.

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

I love the acrylic edges on these wooden rings and how that tiny bit of colour has such an impact.

Everything above from Trijn Sieraden (Dutch jeweller Tineke Tichelaar) — more to see on her site!

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

These rings are some of her early work so go visit the UK's Studio Isla (Isla Christie) and check out her more recent pieces, which are fun and... squiggly.

Monday, October 12, 2020

These fun wooden rings are suitable for all plant-adjacent activities, from holding fruit...

...to fondling leaves...

...to harvesting crops. All rings above by Italy's è·te·re (Irene Targa).

Friday, October 9, 2020

This might be my favourite ever "ring-a-day" project. And, the times being what they are, it's a "quarantine" edition! Check out all the fun pieces (and other projects) by visiting Russian jeweller Katia Rabey.

Thursday, October 8, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: South Korea's S_S.IL.

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

I've always loved porcelain fragment rings, like these ones by Dutch jeweller Marlies Dinnissen. I bet it's a lot of fun picking out just the right part of a pattern!

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

3D-printed rings in metal and precious metal by Mexico's A Gross Domestic Product (great name!), brainchild of Mexican "poet and academic" Carlos Adolfo Gutiérrez Vidal.

Monday, October 5, 2020

Castro NYC (New York's Terry Castro) creates ornate, fantastical, jewel-encrusted pieces of art. These rings are two of his more subdued works so be sure to check out his full portfolio!

Friday, October 2, 2020

Stunning rings in resin, pigment and pyrite by Indonesia's Olivia Marsha.

Thursday, October 1, 2020

Ring-Free Thursday: UK-based Russian jeweller Olga Alianova.

«  Older