The Carrotbox

The Carrotbox Jewellery Blog

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

I love glass tiles and I especially love that these ones are made from recycled windows. Rings above by Spain's (by way of Norway) B Glass.

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

It's hard to tell from the photo above but that palm ring isn't just stamped — the little details are cut-outs.

For modern jewellery with a touch of quirk (like this necklace I couldn't resist posting), check out the UK's Lima Lima.

Monday, October 21, 2019

This "solitaire" ring really only scratches the surface...

...of a complex series focussing — and expanding — on chains. Go check out the cool work of UK-based Hungarian jeweller Veronika Fabian.

Friday, October 18, 2019

Statement Credit Card: whether it's this ring questioning the value of her education or the "February 30th" tag ring examining status, UK-based Wen Ju Tseng always gives you something to think about — and look at, of course! Don't miss the rest of her interesting work.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: South Carolina's Katie Kameen.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

I didn't think anything could draw my eyes away from a caged-skull knuckleduster that doubles as a pendant, but that is a seriously well-shaped pair of hands. For much more, including lots of organic enamel, see Russia's Semyon Starov.

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Rings from the "Sensível" collection by Brazilian visual artist Fabiana Queiroga.

Monday, October 14, 2019

I'm back from holiday! If you're back here with me today, thank you! Let's get back into the swing of things with these woven wara (rice straw) rings from Japan's Hanasewara (Momoko Fujii), based on traditional wara art techniques.

Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Please note: the blog is on holiday but will return Monday, October 14th, 2019. Thank you and see you then!

Monday, September 23, 2019

This oh-so-Kyotoesque ring, made of wooden nails, was inspired by the red columns of the hall at Sanjusangendo temple. See the full collection by visiting Japan's Mineri Matsuura.

Friday, September 20, 2019

When not staging miniature cinematic scenes, Italy's Lunante revels in mixing various materials in their jewellery, from polymers to metallic powders to Armenian clay.

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: India's Manubhai Jewellers.

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

While I love this ring that was "inspired by the stunning rock formation of the Giants Causeway" in Northern Ireland, I'm all about this jeweller's cow ear-tag earrings! To see, check out the UK's Kathryn Reid.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

It's a simple concept — single beads on straight wire — but the look is fresh and the cumulative effect even fresher. To see more, visit Japan's Jelma (Marika Mayanagi).

Monday, September 16, 2019

Check out Sweden's Dinea Design (Stefania Dinea), whose 3D printing work extends beyond jewellery and into architecture.

Friday, September 13, 2019

Portugal's Caio Mahin brings us — and I quote — "shady contemporary jewellery" for a little Friday fun.

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Germany's Steffi Götze.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

"Peking Opera" rings by Chinese jeweller Siting Zhan, featuring the vivid red and blue that are so prominent on its stage. Also see her Shanghai-inspired "Shikumen" series featuring wood, acrylic and photographs.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Could you wear this ring...

...without spilling it? What looks like some kind of cabochon ring is actually a "watering." Check out German jeweller Regina Rupp for more.

Monday, September 9, 2019

The way these rings are arranged reminds me of ikebana, but with jewellery. For more, visit Lebanon's Rosa Maria Jewellery.

Friday, September 6, 2019

I was going to say this ring could replace the flashlight during hours of under-the-bedsheets reading — but then I remembered that Kindle has already done that. In any case, this ring was actually inspired by the similarity between a jeweller's bench lamp and a human's finger joints. For more interesting work, visit Rhode Island-based Yimei Hu.

Thursday, September 5, 2019

Ring-Free Thursday: Japan's Arro.

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Philadelphia's Philip Ambrose puts a spin on ye olde cut-out coin ring by adding a coloured backdrop.

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Kathy Kraus and the Irregular Polygons would make a great band name. Visit the German jeweller to view the full collection, featuring translucent agate and transparent stones.

Monday, September 2, 2019

Leather rings by Spain's Sabina Vargas, representing "an interaction between craft and industrial design."

«  Older